Supported by

This project has received funding from the European Union’s Seventh Programme for research, technological development and demonstration under grant agreement No 604590.







The XIFI Infrastructure Federation

The creation of a sustainable pan-European open federation of test infrastructures is a key milestone in overcoming the current fragmentation of European infrastructures into isolated test beds that are individually unable to support large-scale trials, and opening the way for widespread and replicable commercial exploitation of Future Internet services and applications. The main objective of the XIFI project and its key contribution to the Future Internet Public Private Partnership programme is to realize this federation.

The XIFI infrastructure federation

Currently the XIFI infrastructure federation comprises 18 nodes and as such it can cope with large trial deployments and can serve the various needs of a broad set of Future Internet users and experimenters. The interconnection of the infrastructures is supported by the national research networks (NRENs) and the pan-European GÉANT facility.

How to join the XIFI infrastructure federation

The XIFI infrastructure federation is an open federation and it is possible to join the federation and become an associate member on a voluntary basis (i.e. without financial support or funding).

The terms and conditions for joining the federation, as well as the process and the legal framework are described in detail in the following document XIFI deliverable D9.2. Furthermore, we suggest that you also consult the FAQ as well.

The minimum requirements towards a XIFI infrastructure node are described here.

An application template for joining is provided here.

FIWARE Recognition & Reward Programme

The FIWARE Recognition & Reward Programme has been designed to encourage infrastructures joining XIFI to provide real engagement with and participation in the FIWARE Lab Federation. The Recognition & Reward Programme is based on 3 levels of engagement accreditation (Bronze, Silver, and Gold), starting after the training completion and reaching a sufficient level of commitment.

Please read more.